The Kidd’s Top 50 Games of This Generation: Part 2

This is my top 24 list of games I believe were the best this generation, if you have not already go read up the previous list to catch up, the game you are looking for just might be on there.

24. Company of Heroes

company-of-heroes

Platforms: PC

Year: 2006

Studio: Relic Entertainment

Back in my early days of gaming I considered myself a PC Gamer, playing classics like Command and Conquer, Warcraft and Red Alert. I enjoyed my Real Time Strategy games. So how fitting was it that the game that brought me back to PC Gaming after dropping it for all these years was arguably the best RTS of this generation.

CoH had a brilliant single player campaign, fantastic use of dynamic terrain as cover or for setting traps, beautiful visuals and it also had Steve Blum as the announcer how cool is that. CoH does have a pretty steep learning curve but once you get the basics it’s so rewarding. The online Multiplayer matchmaking is some of the best I’ve experienced on any game, so go ahead hop on steam and get this baby if you haven’t already.

Rating: 8.5

23. The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim

skyrim-wallpaper-background

Platforms: Multiplatform

Year: 2011

Studio: Bethesda Studios

It took me a while to get into the Elder Scrolls series, as a matter of fact it took my good friend Garry to forcefully install it on my PC for me to actually play the damn thing and boy what a mistake that was.

50 hours later I hadn’t even progressed a quarter way through the main storyline, I was busy stealing things for the thieves guild and hunting dragons so I could upgrade my shouts. Legendary Game designer Todd Howard was quoted saying you could play Skyrim forever, he was not wrong.

Rating: 8.5

22. Red Dead Redemption

red_dead_redemption

Platforms: Playstation 3, XBOX 360

Year: 2010

Studio: Rockstar North

Just when you thought the open world formula was getting old, Rockstar pulled this old IP outta their hats and Bam we all marveled at its brilliance. Red Dead Redemption did a lot of new things at the time, the hunting mechanic, the random encounters, the very open Wild West, riding into the Mexican sunset with the most epic country song playing in the background. Ah yes, Red Dead Redemption was a great game indeed.

Rating: 8.5

21. Sleeping Dogs

Print

Platforms: Multiplatform

Year: 2012

Studio: United Front Games

No other game and I mean no other game allowed me to play around in a modern day Hong Kong action flick. Playing Sleeping Dogs was kinda like playing the video game version of a really cool John Woo movie and no please don’t bring up Stranglehold.

Sleeping Dogs hit the apex of what modern open world action crime games should be, the hand to hand combat was fantastic, the driving felt fun and it even gave you a good reason to obey traffic rules and regulations unlike the failed attempt by almost every other open world game to date.

The story, the characters, the gameplay and the authentic look of the game is what puts it on this list as a must play for any gamer.

Rating: 8.5

20. Sid Meier’s: Civilization V

2013-10-01_00001

Platforms: PC

Year: 2010

Studio: Firaxis Games

I got into Civilization really late, I played my first ever Civ game this year in fact and it was a revelation. I firmly believe no one has the right to talk politics unless they have at least completed one game of Civilization V. The game kept me coming back for more, in the wee hours of the night id continuously just say to myself “just one more turn, I’m sure Poland will back off my land and give me the luxury items I need, damn Poland.”

Rating: 8.5

19. The Witcher 2: Assassins of Kings

The-Witcher-2

Platforms: PC, XBOX 360

Year: 2011

Studio: CD Projekt Red

How many games allow you to completely not experience about 40% of its content because of a decision you made? That is the extent to which The Witcher’s choices have consequences. This is a hardcore RPG for hardcore gamers, no hand holding here folks. Players are expected to drink potions before combat situations to survive, getting stabbed in the back is almost always insta-death and it even has dialogue bosses.

The Witcher 2 is a generation ahead of its peers both in visuals, game concepts, mechanics and narrative. Its an RPG every hardcore RPG fan must play atleast once.

Rating: 8.5

18. DotA 2

2013-10-05_00001

Platforms: PC

Year: 2013

Studio: Valve

Im sitting here looking at my steam library and it says over 250+ hours of DotA played by The Kidd. This doesn’t even count the time I’ve spent with the game in offline mode which would only double it. I’m not going to bother explaining what DotA is here coz that’s a whole nother article on its own. I’m just glad Peter gave me that DotA2 invite, thanks mate you ruined my life hehe.

The best thing about DotA is how its Free to Play model does not manipulate the games in any way at all. Everything you pay for is cosmetic, the entire game is free and available for anyone to play. Sure it has an unforgiving learning curve and an elitist userbase but man some of the best fun ive had playing online has been in this arena.

Rating: 9

17. Far Cry 3

Far Cry 3

Platforms: Multiplatform

Year: 2012

Studio: Ubisoft Montreal

This game is pure FUN. Pure unadulterated FUN! This game made me care about a main character that is an archetype I would normally hate. The tale of Jason Brody going from a wimpy daredevil to a constantly high mass murderer was actually interesting to see unfold. The Skyrim like moments of the game are what made it the most fun for me. That one moment when you are told to burn that weed with the flame thrower and then Skrillex starts playing. That was awesome!

I was really shocked to find out that the game designers made the game as some sort of satire of modern FPS’ make of that what you will. Also Vaas is quite possibly the best video game villain ever created.

Rating: 9

16. Fallout 3

fallout3_3_lg

Platforms: Multiplatform

Year: 2008

Studio: Bethesda Studios

I love me my dystopian sci-fi, I love me my Post Apocalyptic settings and Fallout 3 probably has the best depiction of this setting. I spent hours in Fallout 3 I did all the side quests, all of them! That’s how much I loved this game it was just so epic. The overarching story wasn’t that great but the little stories each individual quest had was what made the whole narrative click for me.

If there is one game I know I would squee for it would be Fallout 4 because war, war never changes.

Rating: 9

15. Braid

braid-game-screenshot-title-xbox-360-big

Platforms: XBOX 360,Playstation 3, PC

Year: 2008

Studio: Number None, Inc

I honestly don’t know what to say about Braid. I feel like anything I say will only diminish the games value. It’s a work of art, a great piece of self expression, a dialogue between the game designer and the gamer about relationships and regret. With some of the toughest puzzles in any platformer I’ve ever played Braid stands alone atop a vast majority of indie game platformers.

Rating: 9

14. Grand Theft Auto V

GTA-V-big

Platforms: Playstation 3, XBOX 360

Year: 2013

Studio: Rockstar

Rockstar’s magnum opus, the culmination of everything they have been refining up to this point had been added into this brilliant game. GTAV is a technical marvel, the visuals, the scope of the game and the ability to freely switch between characters made the game feel nextGen. The overarching story may have been cliche but the stories of the individual characters made the game a lot more compelling than its predecessors and those where great too. GTAV is a lot less wacky than the GTA’s of old which is something I feel the series needed to do to keep the formula fresh. We all know how many records it broke on the market and there’s a reason for that, it’s because the game is magnificent.

Rating: 9

13. Gone Home

gonehome_familyportrait

Platforms: PC

Year: 2013

Studio: Fullbright Entertainment

Speaking in detail about Gone Home’s plot would only spoil the experience for anyone who has yet to play the game. All I will say here is it was a revelation, one of the best examples of gaming as a way to tell a story that would be rather mundane if it was told via any other medium. As I explored that house, picked up and analysed objects, listened to mid 90’s punk rock cassette tapes, read notes exchanged between high school kids and read letters that all pieced the story together. I realised this is a unique experience that I could not have experienced any other way but through gaming.

Gone Home holds a special place in my heart. I really hope more games like it are made in the future.

Rating: 9

12. Half Life 2

half life 2

Platforms: Multiplatform

Year: 2009

Studio: Valve

Half Life 2 was my 1st Half Life experience so unlike most gamers who were clamoring for this baby back in the day I went into it very skeptical, I came out the other end begging for my episode 3 just like everyone else.

Its Half Life guys what more is there to say?

Rating: 9

11. Uncharted 3

uncharted3

Platforms: Playstation 3

Year: 2011

Studio: Naughty Dog

The Uncharted series is known for a few things; Nolan North, Nathan Drake, Epic Action Set Pieces, Wacky supernatural enemies that can’t be explained, great characters and fantastic writing. Many a game critic will tell you Uncharted 2 was the better game. However, I beg to differ.

The series really came to its own in the third and final installment, the set pieces were more emphatic (boat scene anyone?) the story was more gripping and Drake was even more witty. Uncharted is the only game that managed to make me teary eyed, scream like a little girl, shout WOAH! And chuckle. It’s pretty amazing.

Rating: 9

10. Assassins Creed 2

Assassins-Creed-II-Wallpaper-HD

Platforms: Multiplatform

Year: 2010

Studio: Ubisoft

I loved the Prince of Persia series so when I found out that PoP creative director Patrice Desilets kind of morphed the nextGen version of PoP into Assassins Creed I was extremely anxious and curious but I had faith. The Assassins Creed franchise is IMO the most influential franchise of this generation. There are a lot of mechanics from the 1st game that have been borrowed by all our favourite modern games including Assassins Creed sequels.

AssCreed 1 felt like a tech demo, it had its issues but AssCreed 2 gave us Ezio Auditore de Firenze and a whole bunch of new and refined mechanics to make the game a classic. The game the most impressive set of character animations and a killer soundtrack to boot and hey how many games allow you to assassinate the Pope?

Rating: 9

9. Mass Effect 2

mass-effect-2-2025

 Platforms: Multiplatform

Year: 2010

Studio: Bioware

I remember staring at my screen for about atleast 2 minutes, panicked, worried, anxious, fearful and curious. I had to make a decision, do I brain wash the Geth or completely destroy them? See on the surface this sounds like a simple video game choice but put in the context of the Mass Effect 2 Universe, in the context of my Paragon-ish Commander Shepard this decision was one of the hardest things I’ve ever had to go through in my life.

That is just one of the many awesome moments that Mass Effect 2 gave me. On top of refined gameplay and better visuals, Mass 2 was a much better game than its predecessor and ended up being a better one than its sequel thanks to its glorious end game scenario, The Suicide Mission. I still get goosebumps whenever I listen to that theme; such is the power of the Mass Effect.

Rating: 9

8. Bastion

bastion

Platforms: XBOX 360, PC, iOS

Year: 2011

Studio: Super Giant Games

This is the game responsible for my love of indie games. It holds a special place in my heart for that reason. The quality of this game is unreal, the visuals are amazing, the narration is glorious, the gameplay is tight and it has one of the best video game Original Soundtracks ever made.

I am yet to meet a human being that disliked playing this game, that’s how good it is.

Rating: 9

7. The Walking Dead 

TWD-game-the-walking-dead-game-telltale-games

Platforms: Multiplatform

Year: 2012

Studio: TellTale Games

The first time I heard about Walking Dead from my good friend @rukishou I told him, “I don’t play point and click adventure games, they are too tedious and old fashioned.” I am so glad that my other good friend, persuaded me to actually play episode 1 for myself before I made a final judgement call.

TellTale Games somehow managed to make the genre modern by adding dialogue choices that drove the story in multiple directions. This wasn’t anything new to the genre specifically, its how they managed to write believable and lovable characters that really earns them this spot. The Walking Dead might possibly the best written game ever made, its definitely in that conversation atleast. #ForClementine

Rating: 9

6. Portal 2

portal2-1

Platforms: Multiplatform

Year: 2011

Studio: Valve

The moment I completed the first Portal as GLaDOS sang Still Alive I thought to myself, “what did I just experience, did this just happen?” Little did I know that that experience would only be magnified with a wonderful sequel a few years later.

The addition of Wheatley, paint mechanics and mind bending Co-op gameplay made Portal 2 the BEST puzzle game ever made. Also the cake is still a lie.

Rating: 9.5

5. Journey

Journey

Platforms: Playstation 3

Year: 2012

Studio: Thatgamecompany

I’ve written about Journey before so I won’t say much here, all I’m going to say is, this is the game that made me go out and buy a new PS3 after my previous one had died. Most definitely one of, if not the best indie game ever made.

Rating: 9.5

4. Metal Gear Solid 4: Guns of the Patriots

metal_gear_solid_4

Platforms: Playstation 3

Year: 2008

Studio: Konami

I remember completing a mission at about 30 minutes to midnight and then THAT cut scene happened you know the 1 hour 29 minutes long one? Yes I counted coz it took that damn long and I enjoyed every minute of it.

MGS4 added a lot of new features that made it “modern.” Cover, over the shoulder camera that can be rotated, active camo etc. The game evolved and so did the characters, why Snake was an old guy in this one. This game was the first true reason to buy a PS3, and who can forget that epic installation screen.

Rating: 9.5

3. Brothers: A Tale of Two Sons

Brothers-A-Tale-of-Two-Sons-Wallpaper-HD

Platforms: Multiplatform

Year: 2013

Studio: Starbreeze Studios

There are a lot of good games on this list, most of them refined age old mechanics and made them work in the modern era, some of them added new mechanics that we could possibly be using in the next generation of games but none of them melded gameplay and narrative as well as this game did.

Brothers doesn’t have comprehensible dialogue or text to tell you it’s story, it’s all in the gameplay. All of it is left to the users experience with the game. I never ever thought id get emotional because I had to push an extra button on a controller. This game is a true work of art.

Rating: 9.5

2. The Legend of Zelda: Skyward Sword

Romance in my Zelda?

Platforms: Nintendo Wii

Year: 2011

Studio: Nintendo

Skyward Sword was my 2011 game of the year for a reason. It is quite simply on par with The Ocarina of Time….yup.

Rating: 10

1. Bioshock Infinite

Falling_Desktop_1920x1200

Platforms: Multiplatform

Year: 2013

Studio: Irrational Games

Immediately after beating the game I sat back on my chair, watching Troy Baker and Courtney Draper sing the acoustic version of “Will the Circle be Unbroken” and I thought to myself, “Wow, I wonder if everyone else interpreted this game the same way I did?” So off to the interwebs I went and proceeded to have at least a 20 page discussion on same gaming forums. It was enlightening the entire experience, refreshing too, for once gamers on a dedicated gaming forum where not harassing or bashing anything or anyone we were discussing Philosophy, Racism, Religion and Politics. That is the power of the Bioshock Infinite.

The original BioShock is highly regarded as a great game, Infinite is only better with much, much better refined controls, a colourful and beautiful visual aesthetic and brilliant voice acting from the man of the moment Troy Baker and the supporting cast.

Bioshock Infinite moved me, it changed my life, it is the best game of this console generation.

Rating: 10

~ by kiddtic on October 23, 2013.

3 Responses to “The Kidd’s Top 50 Games of This Generation: Part 2”

  1. […] Click the link to go to part 2. […]

  2. Bioshock Infinite is my number one too

Well said but my Opinion Is...

 
